Interning in NYC & other New Year’s Resolutions

newyearresolutions

I’m not the kind of person who makes New Years resolutions. I never have enough faith in myself to follow through with them and truth be told I’m just incredibly lazy. But on New Years day when I woke up hungover in desperate need of coffee with remnants of last nights make up smeared across my face, I thought to myself, “Yeah, I could make some changes…”

I’ve mulled these resolutions over in my head and I feel fairly confident that I can achieve them. But just to give myself some incentive I thought I would put them out here in a public space. That way I have to be accountable for them, right? Well that’s what I’m telling myself, anyway. Here we go…

  • Visit more museums. I’m an art major, but I think I might be a pretty terrible one. I don’t go out of my way to visit museums and art exhibitions or get involved with the Baltimore art community. However, when I was in London I couldn’t get enough of it. I wanted nothing more than to constantly be in the city’s museums and galleries (I would live in Tate Modern if I could). Among other things in that amazing city, the museums and galleries inspired me to be a better artist and I can never get enough inspiration.
  • Be a better driver. I’m not necessarily a bad driver; I’ve never been in a car accident and I only have 2 moving violations on my record but I think we could all be more careful behind the wheel, no?
  • Intern in NYC or CA this summer. I almost (almost) had the opportunity to intern at my dream company over winter break… but that didn’t quite fall into place. So I’m putting all my free time this spring into redesigning my pathetic resume so that I can land an amazing internship this summer. Fingers crossed for me, please!
  • No soda, no fast food. My weight is something that has always held me back and stifled my confidence, so this resolution is a long time coming. I became a little too familiar with the McDonald’s employees on High Street Kensington (Hi Samuel, hope you’re doin’ well, babes) when I was in London and I have a not so secret love affair with the cheesy fiesta potatoes from Taco Bell, so a change is necessary. My plan is to start by cutting out soda and fast food, and then slowly eliminate other awful foods/habits in my life as 2015 progresses.

Is there anything you resolve to do in 2015? Let me know in the comments. Or drop me a line on Twitter.

Thanks for reading!

Xo,
Syd

I want to hear your thoughts!

