A trip to the Roman Baths | POPSyd Studies Abroad

blog3

On Saturday, I trekked 3 hours south-west of London to beautiful Bath. I had traveled to Bath once before when I was about 11 years old, but this time around I was able to truly marvel at and understand just how magnificent the Roman Baths are.

The Roman Baths date back 2,000 years and as I walked through them, I found it very grounding to learn about structures that were built way before our time. (I was also able to put my art history knowledge to good use, so (as some Brits would say) I was ‘well chuffed’ about that, hehe).

It was a rather overcast day (that’s England for ya, right?), but I managed to grab a few great shots of the gorgeous structures:

We also had free time to wander around Bath on our own. I made stops at The Jane Austen Center and a small trinket shop to pick up souvenirs for a few of my family members. It’s never too early to start thinking about Christmas presents, right?

Whilst in Bath, I felt a stronger sense of quintessential British culture. I have found that London is more of a melting pot of individuals of all different backgrounds, much like New York City, where as Bath it seems is of a more traditional English city.

This weekend, I will be exploring Camden – another borough in London, one that’s known for its open air and indoor markets. As I did quite a lot of spending this weekend (and I’m sure to do more since it’s only Tuesday), I thought it best to stay in London to save a few pounds on travel.

See ya in my next post!

Xo,
Syd

6 responses to “A trip to the Roman Baths | POPSyd Studies Abroad

    • Aw, you’re too nice! I 100% recommend making the trip to Bath if you come to England. I traveled by coach with a tour guide and a bunch of other students and it worked out very well!

      Thanks for taking the time to read my post 🙂

I want to hear your thoughts!

