You gotta “Shake It Off” (aka TSwift released a new song & I’m freaking out)

Taylor Swift FINALLY released a new song (!!!!!!) and info about her fifth album (!!!!!!!) and I (Chris Traegar voice) literally could not be anymore excited than I am right now.

Please hold while I collect my thoughts. Whew.

Okay. So. The RED era has come to an end which is a bittersweet thing for me because it was the time when I truly understood and fell in love with Taylor Swift as an artist. There was a time in my life when I was a Taylor hater (I was young and dumb, okay?) but as I’ve grown up a little I’ve been able to see things from Taylor’s point of view. As cheesy as it sounds, I’m definitely a better person for listening to Taylor Swift’s music.

With “Shake It Off,” Taylor continues to spread personal messages through her music. This time she’s speaking about being yourself. To Rolling Stone she said:

It takes a long time to figure out who you are and where you fit in in the world. I’m putting myself in all these awkward situations where the dancers are incredible, and I’m having fun with it, but not fitting in. They’re doing the most beautiful things, and I’m being embarrassingly bad at it. It shows you to keep doing you, keep being you, keep trying to figure out where you fit in in the world, and eventually you will.

With her new album, 1989, I can’t wait to see the turns she takes and the surprises she throws at us. This song is just the beginning of Taylor’s new sound (she’s about to make her way as a pop goddess, no doubt about it), an album full of one of a kind songs with personal lyrics, and so many unforgettable moments. Oh yeah, and a brand new tour.

This album is going to be a big one for Tay. I can feel it.

I want to hear your thoughts!

