TOTD: Break Free by Ariana Grande ft. Zedd

TOTDJULY

Photo via Ariana Grande Facebook

Photo via Ariana Grande Facebook

TOTD of July 8th: Break Free by Ariana Grande ft. Zedd

For fans of: Sleigh Bells, Zedd, Sia

When I found out that Ariana Grande was releasing a new song I was actually pretty excited. Jammin’ to “Problem” has become a near daily ritual on my morning commute (and when it comes on the radio just about any other time of day…haha) so I had high hopes for this one. I also thought it was pretty cool that she worked with Zedd for the track. First Iggy, now Zedd – serious props to Ariana for those collabs. (Her new album will feature Childish Gambino and The Weeknd, too – woot woot!).

However “Break Free” just doesn’t do it for me… Of course Ariana has a wonderful voice – there’s really no getting around her vocal talent – but the girl power lyrics just don’t have enough “oofmph” to get their message across. I’m not all that intrigued by the beat, either, especially the wobbles that seem to be randomly thrown in there toward the end. I think the song will be a huge summer hit regardless (it’ll be a great club song, for sure) but its not gonna make it on any of my summer playlists.

More Ariana: Website. Facebook. Twitter. Instagram. Vevo.

Have you listened to Ariana’s new song “Break Free” yet? What did you think of it?!

I want to hear your thoughts!

