#TuneoftheDay: Take It Back by Ed Sheeran

TOTDJUNE

Photo via Ed Sheeran Facebook

Photo via Ed Sheeran Facebook

#TOTD of June 22th: Take It Back by Ed Sheeran

For fans of: The Script, Kodaline, Coldplay

Today, I want – no, need – to celebrate the worldwide release of Ed Sheeran’s sophomore album x. Ed’s debut album, +, has been spinning in my car almost constantly over the past 2 years so like many Ed fans, I have been impatiently waiting for x to be released. Finally, the day has come!

So far I think “Take It Back” is my favorite track off the record. I’m sure by tomorrow I’ll have a new favorite song (spoiler alert: I will, and it will be “Shirtsleeves”) but as of right the minute, “Take It Back” is beating out all the others. What I love about this track is how honest and emotionally charged the lyrics are. From the second the song starts, Ed delivers the quick and quick witted words he’s know for (i.e. “You Need Me, I Don’t Need You”) while allowing us a peek at his life since gaining more fame, all the while revisiting some of the same concepts he touched on on (like hard work, leaving home, staying true to his roots, etc.).

The release of has made me even more excited to see Ed in London this fall (as if that was even possible, because I can’t even believe that’s a real sentence) so, as you can probably guess, this CD will now be replacing in my car stereo.

More Ed Sheeran: Website. Facebook. Twitter. YouTube. Instagram.

I want to hear your thoughts!

