#TuneoftheDay: Somebody To You by The Vamps ft. Demi Lovato

TOTDJUNE

Photo via The Vamps Facebook

Photo via The Vamps Facebook

#TOTD of June 10th: Somebody To You by The Vamps ft. Demi Lovato

For fans of: 5 Seconds of Summer, MKTO, One Direction

When I first heard “Somebody To You” a few weeks ago, I really enjoyed it. Not enough for it to get stuck in my head but just enough for me to go, “Ohhh, that song,” when the music video was released. Still, the mixture of The Vamps‘ indie rocker sound and Demi Lovato’s obviously amazing voice is an unlikely collaboration that works oh so well. I also think it’s was a huge opportunity, career wise, that The Vamps were wise to take advantage of.

Unfortunately, the music video does nothing to elevate the song. Demi doesn’t interact with the band or the rest of the actors in the video, which makes her seem disconnected. And couldn’t we have left the leather jackets at home for once? I know, I know, The Vamps have to look cool and keep up their street cred (trust me, I wanna be Elvis Presley and Alex Turner, too), but leather jackets just aren’t necessary on the beach, no matter what time of day it is…

More The Vamps: WebsiteFacebook. Vevo. Twitter. Instagram.

I want to hear your thoughts!

