#TuneoftheDay: Midnight Sun by Phillip Phillips

TOTDMAY

Photo via Phillip Phillips Facebook

Photo via Phillip Phillips Facebook

#TOTD of May 30th: Midnight Sun by Phillip Phillips

For fans of: Imagine Dragons, Coldplay, Parachute

I fell out of watching American Idol a long time ago, so I can’t exactly tell ya much about Phillip Phillips’ time on the show other than that he came in first. What I can tell you is that he is far from a manufactured, reality show contestant. His new album, Behind the Light, is incredibly genuine.

“Midnight Sun” gets under my skin, but in a good way. Try and follow me here, guys: you know those songs that make you feel both incredibly light and very heavy at the same time because the lyrics fit so well with the thoughts that are constantly bounding back and forth in your head? That’s what this song is.

I’m 21 years old. Are you still following…? I’m only just beginning the decade that is supposed to be the most tumultuous, soul-searching time period of my life and that’s why I need songs like this. Of course I’m still a beginner to this whole “finding myself” thing, but I’m pretty sure this time is about morphing into the person I’m supposed to be and about becoming a more fearless versions of myself.

Don’t believe me? Just look at these lyrics from Phillip:

Oh my friend
Look how time has changed the cracks in our skin
Oh my friend
Let go of the fear that’s inside your head so stay strong live on
And chase the midnight sun

More Phillip: WebsiteFacebookTwitterInstagram. Vevo.

One response to “#TuneoftheDay: Midnight Sun by Phillip Phillips

  1. Pingback: #TuneoftueDay: New At This by Megan & Liz | POPSyd·

I want to hear your thoughts!

