#TuneoftheDay: You Ain’t No Saint by Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties

TOTDMAY

Photo via Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties Facebook

Photo via Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties Facebook

#TOTD of May 28th: You Ain’t No Saint by Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties

For fans of: The Wonder Years (obviously!), Into It. Over It., Nick Santino and the Northern Wind

Before I launch into this TOTD, I would like to take a moment to say Happy Birthday to my mother! She’s 1/2 of the dynamic duo that raised me to the kind of okay and sometimes funny girl that I am today.

That aside, I would also like to highlight a singer/songwriter who also kind of shaped me into the person I am today. Okay, that sounds a little dramatic now that I think about it… But I do deeply appreciate the music that Dan “Soupy” Campbell has made over the years. You probably know Soupy as the lead singer of the pop-punk band The Wonder Years, but recently he debuted his new project Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties.

The song, “You Ain’t No Saint,” is the first single from AW&TRT. You know, I fell in love with The Wonder Years when I was in high school and there’s a comfort (for me, at least) that comes with listening to TWY so I like that this song kind of reminds me of “Woke Up Older” off of Suburbia. But there is a clear musical progression from TWY’s musical style to what Soupy is doing on this project. 

This song features horns and more natural sounding drums, and the lyrics have Soupy exploring the character of Aaron West, rather than writing directly about his own life experiences as he’s known to do. However, the same gritty honestly that Soupy gives to TWY shines through with this song.

Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties’ debut full length, We Don’t Have Each Other, will be out on Hopeless Records on July 8.

More Aaron West and the Roaring Twenties: WebsiteFacebookTwitter.

I want to hear your thoughts!

