#TuneoftheDay: Giving Me Away by Betty Who

TOTDAPRIL

9bettywho

Photo via Betty Who Facebook

#TOTD of April 9th: Giving Me Away by Betty Who

For fans of: Chvrches, Banks, Mary Lambert

Last night I listened to Betty Who for the first time. This was my face while experiencing each and every song of off her “Slow Dancing – EP,” which released on April 8.

My mind is blown; I can’t believe I did not listen to her before. I haven’t been this disappointed in myself since last summer when I missed meeting Harry Styles and Niall Horan by like 10 minutes… but that’s another story.

Anyway, Betty Who (which is her stage name – Jessica Newham is her real name) is a babe; she has fantastic style, envy-inspiring hair and the amount of confidence that just pours out of her is astounding. That same word could be used to describe the “Slow Dancing – EP.” It’s full of 80s electro pop made new again. Her songs come off as dreamy and youthful while still exuding a timeless charm. It was so tough to pick a favorite, but “Giving Me Away” is my #1 at the moment. I say “at the moment” because I’m sure my favorite tune off of “Slow Dancing” will change by tomorrow.

The lyrics of this tune are what made me sway toward it:

With your hands all through my hair
You’re holding onto all the air
Judging from how we’ve been
You should kiss me like you mean it again
‘Cause I don’t wanna be your friend

Call me pretty young thing
Make me weak until I’m speechless
Falling into you

P.S. Watch this video of a flash mob proposal to “Somebody Loves You” by Betty Who. It’s the most amazing thing you’ll see all day – if you haven’t already seen it, that is.

More Betty Who (cause you’re definitely gonna want it): Website. Facebook. Twitter. Insta. YouTube.

I want to hear your thoughts!

