#TuneoftheDay: Me and My Broken Heart by Rixton

TOTDMAR

Photo via Rixton Facebook

Photo via Rixton Facebook

#TOTD of March 25th: Me and My Broken Heart by Rixton

For fans of: Maroon 5, Rob Thomas

Today’s tune is a two for one deal – that’s right, ladies and gents, I’m bringing you TWO tunes instead of just one. Today I really want to showcase the Brit pop/R&B band, Rixton’s, new single “Me and My Broken Heart,” but I really, really need to mention the bands cover/response to Taylor Swift’s “I Knew You Were Trouble” too. So you’re gettin’ both!

The new single is what all spring-time singles need to be: catchy and easy to sing a long to with killer vocals. I think this lyric video is a bit cheesy, but I’m sure their official music video will be much more inciting (it actually premieres tomorrow, March 26th, on MTV!). The singer also sounds like Adam Levine and their harmonies are on POINT.

As for the T-Swift cover/response, this is really a must listen.There’s a little bit of “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together” thrown in there and “Troublemaker” by Olly Murs as well. I haven’t yet figured out if the shade they’re throwing at Taylor is meant to be cheeky and sassy or just to “call her out” on her songwriting style. Possibly a little bit a both, and even though I’m a big fan of Taylor I had to showcase the cover/response just because of how clever and creative I think it is.

More Rixton: Website. Facebook. YouTube. Twitter. Instagram.

What do you think of Rixton? Let me know in the comments!

I want to hear your thoughts!

