#TuneoftheDay: I’ve Given Up on You by Real Friends

TOTDMAR

Photo via Real Friends Facebook

Photo via Real Friends Facebook

#TOTD of March 12th: I’ve Given Up on You by Real Friends

For fans of: Transit, Fireworks, Jimmy Eat World

Earlier today, I told my friend I wasn’t going to read Alternative Press’ article on the band Real Friends because I didn’t like them. Then, while listening AP’s 100 Bands that You Need to Know playlist on Spotify, I came across this tune not knowing it was by Real Friends. And I ended up really liking it… so by making this post I’m choosing to publicly eat my words.

“I’ve Given Up on You” has a sound a kin to that of the band Transit, but the vocalist of Real Friends, Dan Lambton, sounds different enough though that I can still dig it. The lyrics also have the sense of honesty that is all the rage in pop-punk these days, but somehow I don’t find it cliche. Maybe you won’t either?

More Real Friends: Website. Facebook. Twitter.

I want to hear your thoughts!

