#TuneoftheDay: Old Pine by Ben Howard

TOTDMAR

Photo via Ben Howard Website

Photo via Ben Howard Website

#TOTD of March 5th: Old Pine by Ben Howard

For fans of: Ed Sheeran, Tom Odell, Mumford and Sons, Mat Kearney

You know, I’m really kicking myself for not paying attention to Ben Howard until a few days ago. When I was browsing Spotify I thought his name sounded very familiar and it wasn’t until I listened to his single “Only Love” that I realized I had heard the song loads of times on BBC Radio 1.

Ben is a singer/songwriter from the UK and (I know I mentioned it up there, but) if you like Ed Sheeran, there’s a very good chance you will love this guy. The tune I’ve picked today is  “Old Pine” from Ben’s debut album Every Kingdom. It starts out slow and simple with an extended intro and gradually builds to more uptemo instrumentals near the latter part of the song. It’s such a gentle and sweet song that I feel almost nostalgic when I listen to it.

It’s unfortunate that Ben hasn’t made that much of an impact in the US yet, but he did win 2 Brit Awards last year and is set to play Bonaroo this summer so I think he’s one to watch.

More Ben: Official Website. Twitter.

I want to hear your thoughts!

