#TuneoftheDay: Invisible by Hunter Hayes

TOTDtest

27hunterhayes

Photo: Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images

#TOTD of January 27th: Invisible by Hunter Hayes

For fans of: Eli Young Band, Cassadee Pope, Brett Eldredge

My favorite award show of all time – The Grammy Awards – was held last night and Hunter Hayes premiered his new song “Invisible” in front of the enormously talented crowd.

Guys, I’m going to be real with you – I do not think Hunter Hayes performed very well last night. I was very excited to see Hunter premiere a new song, but by the end of the performance I was left mostly disappointed. I’ll just chock it up to nerves or something along those lines because I know that Hunter has a great voice (it’s what got him nominated for a Grammy, after all).

What I think matters more than the way he sang the song, though, is the song’s meaning. In an interview with Nancy O’Dell prior to his Grammy performance, Hunter talked about his time at school, “I was a total geek, a total nerd, you know I still am and I’m proud of that. But it took me a while to realize that it’s okay to be proud of that.” Essentially, that’s what the lyrics to “Invisible” are based on.

And you’ve been trying for so long to find out where your place is
But in their narrow minds, there’s no room for anyone who dares to do something different
Oh, but listen for a minute

Trust the one who’s been where you are wishing all it was was sticks and stones
Those words cut deep but they don’t mean you’re all alone
You’re not invisible
Hear me out, there’s so much more to life than what you’re feeling now
Someday you’ll look back on all these days and all this pain is gonna be… Invisible
Oh, invisible

 

2 responses to “#TuneoftheDay: Invisible by Hunter Hayes

  1. I thought Hunter’s performance was flawless. I don’t understand these reviews. His facial expressions are just who he is, but I thought it was awesome. Maybe I’m just such a fan I think everything he does is awesome, but please based on other performances of the night Hunter was awesome. What a talented man, what an inspiring song.

    • I don’t mind Hunter’s facial expressions at all – I’m not one to let stage mannerisms bother me when it comes to performers. But I just didn’t think his voice was as good as I’m accustomed to hearing it. His voice wasn’t terrible on every note, but for the most part it just seemed a little weak.

      You’re right though, the song is incredibly inspiring so I definitely agree with you on that.

      PS. Thanks for commenting!

I want to hear your thoughts!

