#TuneoftheDay: Shameless by Lissie

TOTDtest

Photo via Lissie Facebook

Photo via Lissie Facebook

#TOTD of January 22nd: Shameless by Lissie

For fans of: Serena Ryder, Nina Nesbitt, Hudson Taylor

Lissie’s lyrics sum up how I feel about some of the female public figures (mostly teenage or young-adult) from time to time. “Shameless” also describes the effect the media can have on the self-esteem of girls who pay attention to the media.

Also, I don’t know about you but I usually trust girls who play guitar. But maybe that’s just me.

This is a huge excerpt from the lyrics but all of it is really thought-provoking:

I don’t want to be famous
If I got to be shameless
If you don’t know what my name is, name is
So what, so what?
I don’t know what this game is
Cause I’m not even playing it
You don’t know what my name is, name is
So what, so what?

She’s just a chickadee
They chose her for celebrity
It’s all a stunt
Why does it get to me
‘Til I react so angrily to this stuff?
And maybe I’m not worth your time
Not a stop upon your climb
It doesn’t bother me,
It’s just my insecurities acting up

I wanna run, run far away
I gotta get far away from you
I gotta keep my identity
And focus on what I can do, oh!

So take a shot for free
And photoshop the bits of me that you don’t want
I’ll steal your magazine
The one with the beauty queen on the front

I want to hear your thoughts!

