#TuneoftheDay: Too Much by Drake feat. Sampha

TOTDtest

19drake

#TOTD of January 19th: Too Much by Drake featuring Sampha

For fans of: Is this section really necessary for Drake? We all know who Drake is…

In honor of Drake‘s bangin’ SNL performance last night, I wanted to make a song from his latest album “Nothing Was the Same” the TOTD. Let me preface this by saying one thing: I don’t listen to a lot of rap and I know very little about the genre. I can go pretty hard on “Clique” but that’s about it as far as my rap talents/knowledge go.

I do really like Drake’s song “Too Much,” though. It’s obvious that this song is layered with emotion, and there’s a ton of strength in it at the same time. I think Sampha has a lot to do with that unique mix.

This piece from Drake is my favorite:

My uncle used to have all these things on his bucket list
And now he’s actin’ like “Oh well, this is life, I guess.” Nah, fuck that shit
Listen man, you can still do what you wanna do, you gotta trust that shit

And the outro by Sampha rounds out the whole song:

Don’t give up, on your hopes
Don’t you tell me somethin’s gone wrong
Wholehearted, wholehearted
You care, you care
Cause I’m such a dreamer
A believer in a sense
Well if it’s all a dream
Then I’m on fire
Feels like, I’m on fire
Tell me when I’m lying
Tell me when I’m trying

P.S. This YouTube video is the worst quality; I usually stay away from videos that have slideshows and all that distracting business, but this was the best I could do for this song. Sorry!

I want to hear your thoughts!

