#TuneoftheDay: Oh, Calamity! by All Time Low

TOTDtest

Photo by Megan Thompson via All Time Low Facebook

Photo by Megan Thompson via All Time Low Facebook

#TOTD of January 18th:  Oh, Calamity! by All Time Low

For fans of: You Me At Six, The Maine, 5 Seconds of Summer (I just wanted an excuse to mention them, really)

“They don’t even know what it is to be a fan. Y’know? To truly love some silly little piece of music, or some band, so much that it hurts.”

This quote from Almost Famous sums up exactly how I feel about the band All Time Low.

I talked about this in one of my videos, but All Time Low has been my favorite band since middle school. Over all the changes in my life they have been a constant. They’ve acted as a shoulder for me to lean on, especially over the course of this incredibly stressful and emotional year, and I couldn’t be more thankful to them.

“Don’t Panic!: It’s Longer Now”, the re-issue of their 5th full length album, was released a few months ago. I’ve had the bonus tracks on a few of my playlists lately, so I thought, ‘Why not make one a TOTD?’ The original release of the album didn’t feature any slow songs, so this is where “Oh, Calamity!” steps in and saves the day. It’s the first bonus track and with the slower tempo it eases the transition between album and acoustic tracks.

Besides the tempo, the lyrics are also incredibly relateable. I think that quality gives them more power than the music already does. Alex Gaskarth (lead singer, of course) has a way of writing lyrics that always resonate with me which is something that few other lyricists can do.

It’s such a shame that we play strangers
No act to change what we’ve become
Damn, it’s such a shame that we’ve built a wreck out of me
Oh, calamity
Oh, calamity

If I catch you on the corner
Will you even know it’s me?
Will I look familiar to you?
Do you offer me a seat?
Can we find a new beginning?
Do you turn the other cheek?
Oh, calamity

I want to hear your thoughts!

