#TuneoftheDay: Love is on the Radio by Carrie and Tom Fletcher

TOTDtest

Photo by Rex Features and Jermaine Francis via Teen Tatler

Photo by Rex Features and Jermaine Francis via Teen Tatler

#TOTD of January 17th: Love is on the Radio by Carrie and Tom Fletcher

For fans of: McFly (duh), Carrie Fletcher (also duh), Dodie Clark

I have an awful confession to make: I don’t listen to McFly.

Whew. It feels good to get that off my chest. It’s not that I dislike them or anything. It’s just that I never sat down and gave the band a proper listen.

But I recently subscribed to Carrie Fletcher (sister to Tom Fletcher of McFly, of course) on YouTube and found this collaboration/duet/pairing she and Tom did of McFly’s song “Love is on the Radio” last November. Because I’m not familiar with any of McFly’s work, I can’t say how this song compares to any of the music they’ve released in the past. But what I can say is that I love this song. It’s joyful, optimistic and a little cutesy. I also love the way Carrie and Tom stripped it down to just their voices and an acoustic guitar. Both of them have fantastic voices on their own, but they sound even better together. What a talented brother and sister pair, huh?

Funny one thing led to another,
You came along, filled my days with color
And its been an everlasting summer,
Since we found each other

Things are looking up, looking up (hey!)
There’s magic everywhere you go
Strangers stop to say hello (hello, hello, hello)
So turn it up, turn it up (hey!)
As loud as you can make it go
Play until your speakers blow,
Listen ’til your ears explode,
‘Cause love is on the radio

I want to hear your thoughts!

