#TuneoftheDay: That’s Alright by Laura Mvula

TOTDtest

13lauramvula

#TOTD of January 14th: That’s Alright by Laura Mvula

For fans of: Lianne La Havas, Sam Smith, Jessie Ware

“That’s Alright” by Laura Mvula is a song I fell in love with months ago and just rediscovered it while browsing Sound Cloud. This song is pretty complex in terms of the sound; the drums are so natural and organic yet somehow they really fit with the horns. The song rises and falls multiple times, but it’s still incredibly easy to follow. And, lets be real, the song has a kick-ass message. I’m behind anything that promotes feminism and self-love.

I will never be what you want
And that’s alright
I’ll play my own damn tune
I’ll shine like the moon
And very soon
I’ll soon fly over you
And whatchu gonna do
When I fly over you

And who made you the center of the universe
Who made you the center of the universe

I want to hear your thoughts!

