#TuneoftheDay: Arabella by Arctic Monkeys

TOTDtest

Photo via Arctic Monkey's Facebook

Photo via Arctic Monkey’s Facebook

#TOTD of January 10th: Arabella by Arctic Monkeys

For fans of: Jake Bugg, The Vaccines, Franz Ferdinand

Arctic Monkeys are one of those bands that I’ve known about for years but never really gave a chance. Well, that is, up until a few months ago when I decided to look them up on Spotify.

For the most part, I like voices that are unique and a little bit imperfect. Alex Turner’s (lead singer) voice is unique in that I feel like I’m transported to another time when I’m listening to his voice; it’s unlike any other mainstream voice. It’s also lovely that Alex sounds just the same live as he does on record, which is a refreshing change from many of the auto-tuned voices that are currently making the rounds in the top 40. While I am absolutely in love with Alex’s voice, the lyrics are my favorite thing about “Arabella” (just like yesterday’s tune).  Here’s an exercpt:

Arabella’s got a 70’s head
But she’s a modern lover
It’s an exploration, she’s made of outer space
And her lips are like the galaxy’s edge
And her kiss the color of a constellation falling into place

Honestly, I feel like I should be wearing red lipstick, winged eyeliner and a leather jacket when I listen to this song. Anyone else? Below is the band performing the “Arabella” at Austin City Limits Festival last year.

P.S. Pay attention to Alex’s guitar part near the end of the video. I don’t know if you’re drooling over your keyboard right now, but I definitely am.

I want to hear your thoughts!

