#TuneoftheDay: Closed Hands, Full of Friends by Foy Vance

TOTDtest

Photo via Foy Vance Facebook

Photo via Foy Vance Facebook

#TOTD of January 9th: Closed Hands, Full of Friends by Foy Vance

For fans of: Kate Walsh, The Staves, Ed Sheeran

I first heard of Foy Vance almost a year ago when he opened up for Ed Sheeran on a club tour. At that time the only knowledge I had on him was that he had an awesome mustache (see above), an impressive voice and could play a guitar using a violin bow. I was impressed with his live show, but I guess I was all too wrapped up in seeing Ed Sheeran live for the first time (I’m still not completely over it) that the high quality of Foy’s set was all too quickly swept out of my mind by Ed’s spectacular show.

But, I was recently reminded of Foy a few weeks ago so I put him on my ‘To Listen’ playlist, and that’s where he sat for about a week. I finally decided to give “Closed Hands, Full of Friends” a listen and I was really, really pleased. Yeah, the song has a fantastic beat. Of course, his voice is more than great and obviously unique. But the lyrics are what I’m over the moon about. Foy’s songwriting skills are illustrative, capturing, thought-provoking and, after having to listen to “When you’re ready come and get it/ Na na na na” for months on the radio, they’re also very refreshing. I think it will be difficult for you not to fall in love with this song once you listen to it.

P.S. Here’s Foy and Ed performing “Guiding Light” by Foy together last year.

One response to “#TuneoftheDay: Closed Hands, Full of Friends by Foy Vance

  1. Pingback: #TuneoftheDay: Arabella by Arctic Monkeys | POPSyd·

I want to hear your thoughts!

