One Direction is a Boy Band?: Midnight Memories Review

one-direction-alum-cover__oPtIt was like any other Sunday night – I arrived back to my apartment after work and like all procrastinators do, I hopped onto the computer before I started my homework.

When I got on the computer I saw that a new One Direction song had been released. As a big fan of One Direction I was very excited (read: TOO EXCITED FOR WORDS) to listen to the song, called “Midnight Memories.”

As soon as I was done enjoying that song, I refreshed the Tumblr page to find that another song was released… and another… and another… In no more than 30 minutes, every single song from “Midnight Memories” was leaked – even the four bonus tracks!

Now, I’m not complaining about this because I really wanted to hear the album and I’m a very impatient girl, to be honest. I listened to the songs online and all I have to say is, well, just sit back and relax as I give my thoughts on “Midnight Memories” track by track…

“Best Song Ever” – As the first single from the album, I’m sure everyone already knows this song. And has seen the hilarious, ridiculous and wonderful video. It’s a pretty standard pop song that would be great to listen to at a party but it’s by no means my favorite on the album. It’s great to hear them taking more risks vocally, though. We all know that Zayn can sing, but like, WOW, Zayn can sing.

“Story of My Life” – This songs gives a feel for what the general sound of “Midnight Memories” is going to be. Harry takes lead vocals on this one (which he does very, very well) but it’s SO GOOD to hear Niall and Louis getting more solos already. The band performed this on X-Factor just the other day and it made me so antsy for their Where We Are Tour next year. Is it 2014 yet?

“Diana” – This is one of my least favorite tracks from the album. There are a few good parts of it, like the bridge, but as a whole it just feels like it would fit better on “Up All Night.” I think one of the bonus tracks could have easily taken the place of this song.

“Midnight Memories” – One Direction are a boy band? What? I can’t hear you over that guitar riff and rock chorus. Please note the “same old shh but a different day” lyric. I see what you did there, 1D. If it’s possible to have a crush on a song, then I’m definitely crushin’ on this one.

“You and I” – This song is to “Midnight Memories” as “Little Things” is to “Take Me Home.” It’s unusual to hear Niall opening a song, but also SO WONDERFUL. Harry carries the chorus again which is to be expected, not that I’m complaining. Harry and Zayn’s vocals are BFF’s here – they just fit so well together.

“Don’t Forget Where You Belong” – This song is one that Niall co-wrote with members of McFly, which guarantees that it’s going to be fantastic; you can tell that a lot of thought went into the lyrics. It’s a slightly poppier than the rest, but I still love it. Louis’ solo is really strong here, as are the harmonies. Basically, this song is about how much 1D loves each other. I don’t blame ’em.

“Strong” – This one has some of the deepest lyrics on the album, and it’s definitely my favorite song on the whole thing because of that. This is a little piece of the chorus: “I’m sorry if I say I need ya. But I don’t care, I’m not scared of love. And when I’m not with you I’m weaker, is that so wrong? Is it so wrong that you make me strong?” Louis wrote this one himself (yay, Louis!) and gets right to the point. His voice also sounds much different than it usually does, better even?

“Happily” – Harry co-wrote this song with 1D’s usual hit maker Savan Kotecha and a few others (surprisingly this is the only song Savan co-wrote on MM as he’s always been so heavily involved with the band). Upon first listen, I fell in love with this track, especially with lyrics like, “And if he feels my traces in your hair, well, sorry love but I don’t really care.” Sassy. So so sassy.

“Right Now” – When I first listened to this track I was like, “Hmm, this reminds me of One Republic.” And then I remembered that Ryan Tedder (lead singer of One Republic) co-wrote a song with Harry, Louis and Liam. Another ‘yay, Louis!’ moment on this song because he has lead vocals (he also sounds a bit like Ryan Key from Yellowcard). He deserves a prize, seriously.

“Little Black Dress” – This is another awesome, awesome, awesome sound departure from their past albums. The guitar is so GOOD and gives it a classic rock vibe. The lyrics aren’t anything profound but it’s the repetition and the music that will probably have me singing this in the car a ton.

“Through the Dark” – Again, what band am I listening to? This isn’t a boy band. This has to be Mumford and Sons. Or even The Lumineers. It reminds me a bit of Ed Sheeran, too. It’s hard to narrow it down but I definitely think Liam’s vocals are the best on this one. This song is my third favorite behind “Strong” and “Right Now.”

“Something Great” – Gary Lightbody of Snow Partrol co-wrote this song with Harry and another song writer but it’s just not as impressive as it should be for such talent. I don’t mind the lyrics, and their vocals are on point but the music is just not doin’ it for me.

“Little White Lies” – Oh, hi there, electric guitar. You’re pretty damn awesome. The lyrics here remind me of “Take Me Home” but the music makes everything a bit edgier, and the chorus is still pretty incredibly catchy. Again, I’ll be singing this one in my car a lot. Probably in the shower too…

“Better Than Words” – This is another track that I can tell is gonna be so much fun to sing along and dance to at shows. The lyrics get a bit sassy and cheeky again, which makes it a great album closer.

Overall, this is probably the least boy band-y album I’ve ever heard from a boy band. If you’ve shied away from listening to One Direction before now, you’re doing yourself a disservice. Seriously. Get to it. Right now.

I want to hear your thoughts!

