#fashionstagram

This month, I’ve been obsessively checking Instagram more than usual. But I wasn’t interested in seeing my friends selfies or their foodstagrams (uh… sorry guys!).

Rather, I was busy checking the Instagram profiles of fashion designers like Monique Lhuillier, J. Crew, Nanette Lepore and Anna Sui to stay up to date on their New York Fashion Week Spring 2014 collections.

It’s hard to stay up to date with Fashion Week because everything moves so quickly, but I did my best! And I selected a few pieces that I was most intrigued by…

Couture fashion designer Monique Lhuillier presented a palette of succulent orange, peach and pink designs. This palette mixed with whites, golds and creams will create such an eye-catching combination for spring time. But prior to spring, I know that Lhuillier’s pieces will be seen on numerous red carpets during award show season.

In a much less formal showing,  J.Crew introduced an assortment of pieces that were reminiscent of a sophisticated and dreamy Hawaiian vacation.  I’m used to seeing more reserved pieces from J.Crew, so these uniquely vivid prints were an unexpected and pleasant surprise.

Next up, New York Designer Nanette Lepore treated show-goers to a collection that can only be described as effortlessly lovely. The show featured a plethora of romantic chiffon choices, as well as a beautiful yellow and red floral print which transferred easily from silhouette to silhouette. As a designer who’s constantly thinking of her customer, Lepore dreamed up everything from formfitting to boxy to flowing shapes that provided something for any woman’s style.

Anna Sui presented a collection of bohemian looks fit for a fairy princess. Her models, most of them sporting red lips and otherwise minimal makeup, were clad in delicate and flowing pieces. Tons of natural colors came into play here and were balanced by deep blues and crush-velvet reds. Throughout the collection, an endless amount of patterned dresses, skirts and shorts popped up. These pieces definitely have the potential to freshen up the basics of any woman’s closet come Spring!

And if NYFW wasn’t enough, things got fashion-y across the pond as well.

Just last week Fashion Week wreaked havoc in London, so naturally I took to Instagram once again. I drooled over the oh-so ladylike formfitting lace pastels and bold pattern mixing at Burberry Prorsum. I was even more enticed by the loud mix mash of prints at House of Holland, where everything seemed to scream, “Look at me!” And I couldn’t help but stare.

With fashion week continuing into October, I can’t wait to see what shows in other cities, like Paris, have to offer!

All photos: Vogue.com

I want to hear your thoughts!

