Style Wrap Up – 7/13-7/28

crops_editI’m back with another Style Wrap Up post – my 3rd one!

These two weeks have been brimming with celebrity excitement of all kinds – from Comic Con in San Diego, Royal Baby excitement in London and tons of other events and celebrity outings in between.

I had quite a difficult time narrowing down my favorite looks – celebs have just been so well dressed recently! But while sifting through my choices I noticed a reoccurring trend – the crop top. And it makes sense when you think about it. Summer is the perfect time to break out the tummy-bearing style and take a little risk. The on-trend risk takers this week are Olivia Munn, Olivia Wilde, Lily Collins, Selena Gomez and Vanessa Hudgens.

Olivia Munn really caught my eye when she wore this sheer light grey crop top and printed pant combo – probably because I OLIVIA MUNN in New Yorkwould never have expected her to wear an outfit like this – but I’m in love with it nonetheless. The crop top is so simple that it could be paired with almost any color or print, which makes it very versatile. But what I think attracted me to this outfit the most wasn’t Olivia’s crop top, but her pants. These pants are so fun and delicately floral, and they look ultra comfy – don’t they?! I also love Olivia’s incredibly rosy cheeks and softly waved hair, it pairs so nicely with the femininity of her outfit. All around, she definitely takes the cake on sweet and girly.

oliviawildeOn the other end of the spectrum, Olivia Wilde tried out a little bit of edge in fitted leather crop top with a checkerboard skirt at the ESPY Awards on July 17th. Tried and she definitely succeeded. The monochromatic pattern on Olivia’s skirt gives enough detail so that her outfit is not just large blocks of color. But it’s also simple enough as to allow her crop top to take center stage. Her lack of jewelry – nothing but a bracelet – allows the classic color combo to really mesh together.

At Comic Con on July 19th, Lily Collins took a different approach in her matching crop top and skirt. Like Wilde’s color palette, Lilys is also classic, but she made things a bit more youthful by choosing a shorter skirt. The high neckline – which seems to belily a common thread for all the crop tops thus far – gives a bit of a mod feeling to the look. Her electric blue nails and collection of rings bring a bit of edge to the geometric patterns, and her pretty pink lips stand out just enough among the otherwise neutral colors. As for shoes, you really can’t go wrong with a simple black platform heel, which is something Lily obviously knows!

selenaOnto another young star! Selena Gomez has been rocking crop tops quite a lot these past few weeks – while out promoting her new album, during dance rehearsals for her upcoming tour and more. But her most stunning look came in the form of an all white ensemble featuring a studded short sleeve crop top, which she wore out to her 21st birthday celebration on July 22nd.

As soon as I saw her wearing this, I knew that I wanted to talk about it in a blog post. It’s common to see studs and black paired together – it’s been quite the trend lately. But Selena goes out of the box by choosing a white top with studs. She paired the heavenly top with quilted leather shorts and ankle strap honeycomb cut out heels, making her brown locks and tanned skin stand out even more.

Also looking put together in all white is Selena’s Spring Breakers costar (spring break forever, Vanessa Hudgens, Eli Roth and Lucilla Sola attend the Gala Dinner on the beach of the Hotel Miramare in Ischiay’all!) Vanessa Hudgens. Recently, she has been in Italy for the premiere of her new film at the Ischia Film Festival and she’s been sporting some drool-worthy looks. In the same week, Vanessa wore another all white crop top and long skirt combo while out in Italy, but ultimately I felt this long sleeved crop top with matching skirt was much more lovely.

Here, Vanessa opted for a v-neck cut top as opposed to a higher neckline style like the rest of my choices. With her nude shoes and metallic gold manicure, Vanessa’s bright lips really pop against the neutral color scheme. And like Selena, her all white look lets her dark hair and tan skin take center stage.

With Vanessa’s look, that rounds out my take on celebrity fashions for the past two weeks. This was a fun one! Like I said, with so many events occurring it was difficult to choose my favorite looks but I think these really take the cake. I certainly hope this post has given you crop top styling ideas for the what’s left of summer!

Oh, and a little brief note: at first I had decided I wanted to post a Style Wrap Up each week. But in a weeks time, there aren’t always enough likeable (for my tastes, at least) outfits for me to write about – I guess I’m just picky! I also find it more enjoyable to leisurely scroll through fashion news and events, rather than feeling rushed to look at everything.

So as for now, I’ll be sharing my thoughts on recent celebrity fashion once every two weeks!

Side Note: As always, I do not claim to own any of the photos used in this post. All photos are property of their respective owners. 

I want to hear your thoughts!

