Music Recommendations ( + Happy 4th!)

US flagsHiya, everyone! It’s the 4th of July today! Hooray for fireworks and cookouts and drinks and fun fun fun. If you’re an American, then Happy Independence Day! If not… well, then happy Thursday! Maybe enjoy a cheeseburger or light some stuff on fire anyway? Yeah, I think you should.

I know not everyone fancies sitting inside and reading on such a celebratory day, but if you’re lookin’ for some new tunes to listen to then this post will definitely be worth your while 🙂

Music has always been a driving force in my life, but it’s safe to say that over the years my tastes have evolved quite a bit…

I’ve gone from being almost completely against Top 40 music, to embracing it with open arms; from absolutely hating Taylor Swift for years, to falling head over heels for RED – which I can say was quite a big deal for both my Swift-loving friends and Swift-hating friends alike (you guys know who you are).

What I’m trying to get at here is that music always has been and probably always will be something that takes up a gigantic chunk of my life, though my preferences may not stay consistent. I thought I’d share with you a compilation of music that I’ve been digging lately.

Some of it’s good for bright summer days and some of it’s good for night drives; some of it’s Top 40 and some of it’s underground; some of it’s old and some of it’s new – either way, all of it’s great and I recommend you treat your ears to each and every one!

To start off, here are my top 3 favorites at the moment:

haimFalling by Haim. If you haven’t heard of Haim yet, it was really only a matter of time before this group of 3 sisters popped up in your life. The group played SXSW in Texas earlier this year, Glastonbury Festival this past weekend, Firefly music festival the weekend before and later this Summer the group will be making an appearance at Budweiser’s Made in America Festival. I think it’s safe to say these girls are on their way to becoming festival queens, and their single Falling has surely helped them get there, as it has unexpectedly proved to be a gigantic crowd-pleasing sing along. The lead singers voice is off the beaten path, but outstandingly charming; the synth grabs your attention and gives the tune a decidedly 80’s vibe. I’d say that this one is the perfect accompaniment to any night drive.

8356_498612996866900_287579468_nGet Lucky (Cover) by The Idiot’s Lantern. I know virtually nothing about The Idiot’s Lantern (or is it The DDL Boys? I really have no idea). Probably because I just discovered them on Monday. But what I do know is that I love the cover songs they’ve been posting on their YouTube recently. Their take over of Daft Punk and Pharell’s summer hit Get Lucky kind of made my jaw drop. I love it when artists take an existing song and put an unconventional spin on it. With their laid back vibe, inciting harmonies and acoustic spin on the song, this duo undoubtedly brings something fresh and unforseen to the table.

5sosHeartbreak Girl by 5 Seconds of Summer. In my first post I talked about 5 Seconds of Summer, the band currently opening up One Direction’s Take Me Home World Tour. Having listened to them more and more since I saw them, the group of Aussie boys have proved to be very talented and cheekily entertaining. Their original songs happen to be just as good – no, definitely better – than their cover of Teenage Dream by Katy Perry. I’d sure hope so too, since 1D’s own Louis Tomlinson handpicked the band himself as the opener. What I love about Heartbreak Girl is that it’s catchy and kitschy. It’s cute and sugary and poppy. And it slips perfectly into that ‘bright summer days’ category, so pour a tall glass of lemonade, park yourself by the pool and hit play.

Other songs I’m currently loving:

  • Pompeii by Bastille
  • The Irony of Choking on a Lifesaver by All Time Low
  • Blurred Lines by Robin Thicke
  • Lemonade by Wheatus
  • Need Your Love by Calvin Harris & Ellie Goulding
  • Help Me Lose My Mind ft. London Grammar by Disclosure
  • Ain’t It Fun by Paramore
  • Strawberry Bubblegum by Justin Timberlake
  • Kiss You by One Direction
  • Same Love by Macklemore

Hopefully this mini music review has brought some new artists or songs to your attention! Happy listening 🙂

Side Note: I do not claim to own any of the photos used in this post.

3 responses to “Music Recommendations ( + Happy 4th!)

  1. Pingback: Super Duper Cool Summer 2013 Jams | PopSyd·

  2. Pingback: Best Last Minute Gifts for Your Faves | PopSyd·

  3. Pingback: POPSyd Video | June 2014: Painting, Puppies & Grill Masters | POPSyd·

I want to hear your thoughts!

