Weekly Style Round Up: June 23-29

cropsIf you know me, you’ll know that I love clothes. If you didn’t know that about me, well… then now you do! It’s something that I’ve become continuously interested in over the past few years. I just really love putting together outfits and choosing the little details that make an outfit special.

In my ‘Welcome!’ post  last week I noted that I was going to talk about celebrities, so it should come as no surprise that I have decided to make a post on celebrity fashion. Each week (from Sunday-Saturday) I’ll be keeping an eye out for great celebrity looks so that I can comment on and post them in a feature (tentatively) titled the ‘Weekly Style Round Up’ (I just can’t quite decide if I like that name or not…).

Anyway, without further ado, here are the looks I’m loving this week!

The Way Way Back - Los Angeles Premiere & Closing Night of LA Film FestivalOn Sunday, June 23rd, at the premiere of her new movie The Way, Way Back, AnnaSophia Robb wore this incredible medium grey double patterned dress. As soon as I saw this dress, I said, “Wowowowowow,” about a million times out loud. It’s quite eye-catching, to be honest. If this dress was just polka dots, I think I might hate it. But with the addition of blue, pink and purple floral patterns, it instantly becomes a dress that I would totally wear. The shoes, while not my favorite style, do pull out the black polka dots speckled throughout the dress so I don’t really mind them. And that crown braid – so summery and gorgeous! And I’m sure with the humidity that comes with this time of year, AnnaSophia was glad to have her hair away from her face.

Lauren Conrad Grabs Lunch at The Beverly GrillWhile out in L.A. on Monday the 24th, Lauren Conrad wore a simple but pretty cream/navy/tan combo. To be honest, I was slightly caught off guard by seeing her in this outfit. The length of the skirt, tea-length, is a style that’s very popular at the moment but one that I’m not used to seeing Lauren wearing. Nonetheless, I still very much adore how the skirt cinches her at the waist. High waisted pieces have been in my closet for quite a few years now, and I’ve always loved how the style flatters a wide range of body types. Side note: her new bangs look fantastic; a much needed change from the side bangs she sported for a very long time.

-Maika Monroe_RebeccaMinkoffEventThe next night on the East coast, actress Maika Monroe (who has a small part in the recently released film The Bling Ring) attended the Rebecca Minkoff dinner in NYC along with other notable names such as Stacey Keibler and Girls actress Zosia Mamet. While there were a ton of well dressed celebrities at this dinner, Maika’s outfit really jumped out at me. In the middle of summer, these simple, usually cold-weather colors drew me in. A pop of color in her shoe, clutch or jewelry would have been welcomed, but are certainly not necessary because of how confidently she is wearing this neutral palette.

Miley Cyrus wears blue Pucci kimono outfit for NYC Radio RoundupOn the other end of the spectrum, Miley Cyrus showed up in NYC on the 27th in an intensely eye-catching blue two piece outfit. When it comes to fashion, I’m very attracted to clothes that I can not see myself wearing at all. And I think that’s why I chose to talk about this outfit of Miley’s. The gold and red embroidery really pop against the blue, and her jewelry stands out but does not compete with the rest of her outfit for attention. The cut-outs on her shoulders give a little peek of skin which helps keep the continuity between her bare midriff and the deep side-slit on her skirt that shows off her thigh. To finish it off, the white stilettos she paired with this are, to me, unexpected but polish off the outfit.

-Demi_GMA_2Demi Lovato wore black, white and red while she was also in NYC on the June 27th. With her hair in a natural wave, it juxtaposes incredibly well with the classic colors in her outfit. Thanks to that, she looks put together without looking as she’s tried terribly hard at all – much like Maika. The small pops of red on her nails, heels (sky high platform peep-toe Loubitons – how does she walk?!) and of course her lips, do so much to pull this outfit together. And again, I can’t stress enough how much I love high-waisted pieces. Demi, lets be fashion friends. Yes? Okay, good.

Anddddddd that’s a wrap! I certainly hope this was an enjoyable fashion post, and I can’t wait to talk about next week’s looks!

Side note: I do not claim to own any of the images used in this post. All images are property of their respective owners.

One response to “Weekly Style Round Up: June 23-29

  1. Pingback: Style Round Up – July 7th-13th | PopSyd·

I want to hear your thoughts!

